jump to navigation

Overwhelming Response July 28, 2006

Posted by manthey in Academia, Inspiration, Nursing Salons.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Note: This post is in response to an email from Gary Saltus, a physician colleague. When I first wrote this post, I left off Gary’s comments, which is a shame because they are so vital to this discussion. Read Gary’s comments, and my complete response, here.

Wow! This whole activity of blogging has already opened more conversations and doors than I had dreamed of. Thanks so much for your thoughtful and insightful comments. I don’t have the grasp on gestalt that you do…..but I definitely get the ‘gist’ of what you are saying. I agree that the transformation has to start with the individual, and then move to groups and teams and that the employing institutions do not yet see the benefit of this kind of staff development.

Throughout my career I’ve been fascinated by how attitudes/behaviors of employees change as institutional and leader values change. I’ve seen so many dramatic changes (both positive and negative) in the lives of patients and nurses that I feel compelled to continue working with these issues.

The issue of not having time to engage in these discussions is really daunting. Also, the separation between professional cultures has erected many barriers to communication I am beginning to see coming down. Another thing that I find very interesting is that the barriers between nurse educators and practice nurses are also beginning to crack. Real light is beginning to shine through. One of the ways I get to see this is thru the monthly gatherings at my home I’ve been doing for the past five years. Attendees vary according to the email lists interests in coming on that evening. It is sort of a blend of the Open Space technology and Socrates Cafe conversation format. I have so enjoyed seeing nurse educators and nurse managers, staff nurses, alternative therapy nurses, public health nurses, etc all sitting around talking about some issue or another in nursing. A retired physician comes whenever he can. And you are right…..it really is about improving Health Care.

Comments»

1. Conversations with Ourselves « Marie Manthey’s Nursing Salon - September 26, 2007

[…] August 29, 2006 Posted by manthey in Conversations. Tags: blog, Salon trackback When I first posted about the overwhelming response to my blog, I left off the comments emailed me by Gary Saltus, a […]


Leave a Reply

