jump to navigation

The Growth of Salons January 27, 2009

Posted by mariemanthey in Nursing Salons.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Here in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, we now have 3 salons monthly, with a fourth one being planned.  There is a calendar of local Salons on the website of the Zeta chapter of Sigma Theta Tau at the University of Minnesota School of Nursing. A new development is that often now when I am invited to speak to a group,  they ask me to conduct a Salon while I am there. Plans exist right now for me to do this in California, Indianapolis, Washington DC, England and Germany.  A Salon will probably be starting soon near Chicago, and some colleagues of mine are planning to start one in Sao Paulo Brazil.

If anyone knows of other Salon start-ups, please send a note to this blog. There are a number of ways I can provide support.  Keep the information flowing. Post a note on this blog.

P. S. I am willing to ‘kick-off’ a Salon in your city/town. I won’t charge a fee.. just cover my expenses.

Comments»

1. Mike Skobba - January 28, 2009

Marie – Thank you for all the support and encouragement to spark Salons in many venues. I have been excited for an opportunity to start a Salon and the Zeta calendar and frequency of Salons in the metro area have given me the tools to research, attend, and then launch one in my community – so I look forward to seeing and participating in your February 11th Salon and then moving ahead with one in my area.

2. Deborah Kaspar - February 15, 2009

It was a “fill up my cup” experience, not often do nurses from such different backgrounds and experience levels have such an opportunity to openly share. I am eager to continue my participation.

3. mariemanthey - February 28, 2009

It was good to meet you. I really admire your dedication and perseverance finding the right way to reenter the profession of nursing. You have acquired important life skills that will be invaluable when the right position appears. Meanwhile, keep coming to these discussion groups. Your insight is valuable, and the contacts you make will probably open more doors.

4. Rashanda - March 3, 2009

Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

______________________________
In Only 3 Minutes, You Can Quickly And Easily Crank Out A Killer Cover Letter That Is Guaranteed To Have Your Phone Ringing Off The Hook With Hot Job Interviews And Top Job Offers… Without Writing One Word!

5. Connie Thach - May 29, 2009

Marie – I would be interested in viewing the guideline that you have constructed for those who are in the process of launching a new salon in their hometown. I am partnering with the local Rochester AACN chapter and have introduced them to your nursing salon. The members of my local chapter were enthralled with the idea and we are in the process of having our first one next month. I am so happy to finally be able to report to you that I have seem to have found the perfect opportunity to initiate a nursing salon here in Rochester.

mariemanthey - May 30, 2009

Connie….this is such good news. I remember well your presence at many Salons, when you were an undergrad…and now it is delightful that you are seeing the way clear to start one in Rochester. I’ll send you the write-up you requested by email, and would love to drive down to attend one. You know, timing can vary, they don’t have to be in the evening. It could be from say 4-7 with a snacky-type food available….there is lots of flexibility. I’m still in favor of having them off-site, as in not in a conf room of a hospital or school. In Calif, we had the kick-off in a private dining room of a favorite restaurant, but from now on they will be in a private home. This helps keep if from being a financial drain on anyone.

I could go on and on, but I will just close by saying ‘good on ya’ for getting this started. Let me know when, and if I can make it, I’ll come down to help with the ‘kick-off’
PS….I love the AACN link you created. As you know, up here we have Zeta support from their website. It all helps ‘spread the word’. ciao.


Leave a Reply

