jump to navigation

Happy New Year January 2, 2011

Posted by mariemanthey in Professional Practice, Values.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

One of my New Year’s Resolutions is to post on the blog more often and use it for the kind of conversations that promote healthy interactions and pride in our profession.

One way I want to do that is to encourage nurses to reflect deeply on the meaning of our work, as the connection to our deepest values helps energize our work. It is rewarding to an individual nurse to appreciate deeply the privilege we have in alleviating pain and increasing comfort at any and all levels of our patient’s vulnerabilities. Experiencing this intrinsic reward is important for each nurse’s self-care.

Another  goal I have is to keep bringing up certain realities about staffing I call these “hidden truths”  that need to be acknowledged and understood by nurses and by the system.

  • nursing work is never done
  • nursing work is unpredictable
  • nursing work is uncontrollable (it is based on pt. acuity and  MD orders, neither of which nurses will ever legitimately control
  • there is always more work to do than time available.
  • prioritizing involves deciding what NOT TO DO when there is more work to do than time available.  The truth is there has always been and will always be more work to do than time available.

More of my thinking on this topic is in Creative Nursing Journal, Vol 15, Number 2, 2009.  The article is entitled, A Brief Compendium of Curious and Peculiar Aspects of Nursing Resource Management.  It is time for staff nurses to quit driving to work fearing they will be short-staffed and driving home at the end of their shift angry because there wasn’t enough help.

Finally, I encourage you to view this short video. It is meaningful for nurses and people at many different levels of being.

Happy New Year!

http://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_on_vulnerability.html

Comments»

1. http://yahoo.com - February 9, 2013

“Happy New Year Marie Mantheys Nursing Salon” was a fantastic blog post and also I
really was in fact truly pleased to find it. I appreciate
it,Damien

2. medical - April 7, 2013

I believe that is one of the so much important information for me.
And i’m satisfied studying your article. However want to observation on few normal issues, The site style is great, the articles is actually great : D. Good task, cheers

mariemanthey - April 7, 2013

Thanks for your comments

3. helicopters - April 13, 2013

I am no longer positive where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I must spend some time studying much more or figuring out more. Thanks for wonderful info I was searching for this information for my mission.

mariemanthey - April 17, 2013

The source of this information was primarily my own experience. 25 years in the hospital world dealing with changes in practice and resource issues was a graduate education in itself. Add another 25 years consulting around the world, and you have my sources of information. Mostly it is the result of not only this experience, but also deep thinking about these issues. The video I recommended in this note is extremely good. Not the focus of my comments, but of great value to the profession.

4. Heidi Orstad - December 4, 2014

Great post, Marie. I had seen that Ted Talk earlier and admired what the speaker had to say and recommended this watch for my team. I have to admit that the ability to “leave work at work” is not an easy feat for me nor is it a common skill amongst my nurse friends or nurse leader friends. What tends to weigh my conscience down as a leader is whether I am offering my awesome nurse team the resources (time/ tools/ knowledge) they need to serve their patients well. As a nurse caregiver, what weighed me down was whether or not I provided patients with the undivided attention and comfort that they so deserved. It is about serving the patient ultimately, and, to your point, there are always more patients than there are hours in the day.

Grateful for your insight!
Heidi Orstad


Leave a Reply

