jump to navigation

Happy New Year….R & R December 27, 2015

Posted by mariemanthey in History, Nursing Peer Support Network, Professional Practice.
Tags: , ,
trackback

R  &  R refers to Reflection and Resolution.    My goal in writing this is to honor the end 2015 with reflection and with the same post honor the beginning of 2016 with a committed  resolve to keep up the post.    My track record for keeping the post relevant is not good, and I intend to develop a ‘posting habit’.   Goodness knows I have enough life experience creating both good and bad habits, that I should be able to be successful in doing this.

 

My reflection about the past year is based on the three major areas I now choose to spend my time and energy.   They are 1) Clinical Practice issues, 2) the History of Nursing, especially the University of Minnesota (U of MN) School of Nursing (SON) and 3) my newest passion, creating a Peer Support service for nurses in addiction/recovery/reemployment.    (upon immediate reflection….this will either be a couple of posts….or one very long one!)

First of all, Clinical Practice issues.    The work of the company I founded, Creative Health Care Management, continues to function as Health Care thought leaders through speaking at national conference, publishing thought-provoking professional books, articles and a quarterly journal, and helping care systems  provide a healthy culture for people receiving care and those caring for them. (A very tall order!)  I have the sheer pleasure of working with colleagues who are value driven, highly experienced change agents.   When we get together and talk about our work (twice a year) it is like the best think tank you can imagine.   I will try to do a better job of telling you the exciting ideas and realities of this work.

My love of history started with Primary Nursing.   I hated history as a student and therefore knew little about it.    Something about Primary Nursing spoke to me about the past so I started reading old American Journal of Nursing (AJN) issues.   Amazing!    Shortly I was hooked on history, fell in love with Nightingale’s story and continued paying attention to history for a couple of decades.   In retirement (!) I joined the Heritage committee of the U of MN SON and became chair of the committee several years ago.   This committee is made of six people who are passionate about understanding history and who delight in making the connection between the past and the future.   We are one of the most hard-working committees of the Alumni Society and our engagement is such that we spend many hours on our subject in addition to the six hours/month in our committee meetings.   Faculty and students, with great leadership from School of Nursing Dean Connie White Delaney, have come alive with interest in history and it is being incorporated into curriculum with increasing frequency.

In my next post, I will continue this year end reflection by sharing a newly developed passion for helping nurses who are dealing with addiction, recovery and re-entry into the profession; and our creation of a Nursing Peer Support Network.

Thanks to all who read this.   Please dialog with me and with each other.   Back soon.

 

Comments»

1. Heidi O - December 27, 2015

Thanks for your great message, Marie! What struck me is the breadth and depth of your three passions–nursing’s past, present and future at an interpersonal, team, and system level. Your message is a good reminder! Grateful.


Leave a Reply

