jump to navigation

Reading List – Treasures! June 30, 2017

Posted by mariemanthey in History, Inspiration, Leadership, Professional Practice, Values.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Here are some books I’ve enjoyed and gained a great deal of insight and resources from. I’d love to hear your thoughts on these and your favorites as well!

The Power of Now by Eckhardt Tolle — I learned the incredible value of learning how to observe my thinking…..thus creating the opportunity to grasp a powerful truth.   That I am more than my thinking.   I am a whole being and by stepping away from my thinking I learn that my thoughts do not define who I am.    My being is more than my thoughts.   That awareness shifts my perspective on life.. Fascinating and exhilarating!

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult – an ambitious tackling of the racial issues of our time, through the setting of nursing.   A highly experienced black nurse is forbidden by her nurse manager from taking care of the baby of a white supremacist couple….at their insistence.   The story from there presents a dilemma for the black nurse that results in a life-changing lawsuit.

Blessed Unrest by Paul Hawken (2007) – the world is undergoing transformational  changes of people, on a  small scale – in conversational salons and discussion groups, between neighbors and friends. These group conversations are about serious topics like spirituality and the role of governments.   And he makes the point that conversations can change people and people change the world.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks  by Rebecca Skloot incredible (true) story of medical ethics involving HeLa – two dime-sized tissue samples taken from Henrietta. The cells possessed unusual qualities and yielded amazing benefits for science; the effects for Henrietta and her family were.. less. Bioethics, racial injustice, and history co-exist in this story which starts in Baltimore, involves the Tuskegee Institute, and spreads benefits globally (for specific groups and humanity in general). Talk about health care disparity – really incredible. Recognition, Justice and Healing – hopefully this book brings us a step closer to these goals.  The film, staring Oprah Winfrey, premiered on HBO this past April and will be on DVD soon!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

